Muskerry Senior Hurlers Round 2

July 26, 2021

SHC Divisions at Ballincollig  21st July 2021
 Seandún   3-17   Muskerry   0-16
 City division side Seandún had a deserved and comprehensive win over Muskerry hurlers in the 2nd round of Co-Op Superstores Cork Premier Senior Hurling Championship (Divisions/Colleges) at Ballincollig on a warm and pleasant summer evening.  Seandún showed that the pre match talk about being a well prepared team had a basis in fact and Muskerry themselves were upset by the loss of the injured duo Conor Cotter and Colm O’Callaghan, and Shane Kingston from their previous game.  Muskerry never got any momentum going, Seandún hit the front after two minutes and forced the pace all through.
 Muskerry were labouring, and two points adrift, when they spurned a golden goal opportunity on 14, Seandún swept down the field and former Sars and Cork star, Cian McCarthy placed a well judged shot in the Muskerry net.  The city side led by 1-5 to 0-4 at the water break and helped by a second goal in the 25th minute and another Muskerry goal miss, led by 2-10 to 0-6 at half time.  A third goal for Seandún on the restart made the outcome inevitable as the winners were playing with confidence and dominating, despite the best efforts of the Muskerry men to get into contention.
 It was a disappointing performance for Muskerry players and mentors who had prepared well and taken the challenge of senior championship hurling seriously.  Due to the demands of Cork and the up coming 2020 county intermediate final players were not available to the selectors but those who committed, mentors and players, can be proud of their efforts and have shown that Muskerry can compete at championship level.
 Muskerry scorers: Mathew Bradley and Brian Keating 0-3 each, Mark Verling and Kevin Murphy 0-2 each, Sean Bourke (f), Darragh Holmes, Dylan Desmond (f), Michael O’Riordan (sl), Cian O’Driscoll (f) and Mark Lucey 0-1 each.
 Muskerry: Dylan Desmond (Éire Óg); Fenton Denny (Ballincollig), Liam Ryan (Inniscarra), William Ahern (Cloughduv); Shane Healy (Donoughmore), Alan O’Shea (Ballinora), Aidan Murphy (Cloughduv); Eoin Maher (Dripsey), Kevin Murphy (Ballinora); Darragh Holmes (Ballinora), Mark Verling (Cloughduv, Capt), Michael O’Riordan (Dripsey); Cian O’Driscoll (Ballincollig), Seán Bourke (Ballincollig), Mark Lucey (Donoughmore).  Subs: Brian Keating (Ballincollig) ht, Mathew Bradley (Aghabullogue) 32, Colm O’Callaghan (Donoughmore) 59.
 Management: Diarmuid Kirwan, Éire Óg, John Dwyer, Ballincollig, Barry Holland, Donoughmore, Denis Murphy, Aghabullogue, Ray Murphy, Blarney.

Thanks once again for the report by Brendan Kenneally

share on entry