Muskerry Senior Football Team Win

July 21, 2021

Cork County Senior Football Championship
Muskerry   0 - 16     Carbery   0 - 6
Muskerry senior footballers had a surprisingly easy victory over Carbery in their opening game in the county senior football championship.  Carbery had been talking up their chances of making a major impact in this year's championship but on the night it was Muskerry who made the big impression.  The footballers had prepared as well as divisional sides can and there was a determined air about the group as they got ready on the sideline at the beautifully manicured Castletownkenneigh pitch.
Muskerry dominated from the start, led by 0-3 to 0-0 at the waterbreak with half backs  Declan Ambrose, Aidan Murphy and Kyle Kelleher driving forward and linking well with their midfielders Fintan Goold and David Horgan.  Up front, Mark Healy, Luke Casey and Jack Kelleher were causing the Carbery defence plenty of problems even if the finish did not always match the approach work.  Still Muskerry led by 0-6 to 0-2 at half time and were the happier side at this stage.  They had added five more points to their tally before Carbery had a player red carded for an unwarranted and disgracefully high tackle on Muskerry corner back Paul Crowley from Donoughmore who had been having a fine game but who now had to be withdrawn with concussion and spent the night in the hospital.  The game was now over as a contest, Muskerry were in full control and the fully able to contain any challenge in the final quarter.
Muskerry: Dominic Kelleher (Inniscarra): Paul Crowley (Donoughmore), William Ronan (Kilmurry), Adam Murphy (Aghabullogue): Declan Ambrose (Aghinagh), Aidan Murphy (Canovee), Kyle Kelleher (Kilmurry): Fintan Goold (Macroom), David Horgan (Macroom): Evan O'Sullivan (Aghabullogue) capt., David Thompson (Aghabullogue), James Moynihan (Canovee): Mark Healy (Canovee), Luke Casey (Aghabullogue), Jack Kelleher (Canovee). Subs: Darragh Holmes (Ballinora)ht, Ciarán Ó Duinnín (Cill na Martra) ht, Fionn Warren (Kilmurry) 40, Liam Twohig (Aghinagh) 50, Darren Dineen (Clondrohid) 50.
Muskerry Management: Gerry MacCárthaigh (Béal Átha'n Ghaorthaidh), William Buckley (Dripsey), Pat O'Leary (Kilmurry), Tim O'Sullivan (Macroom), Gearóid Ó hEaluithe (Cill na Martra) Danny Buckley (Aghabullogue).

Report by Brendan Kenneally.


share on entry