Ross Oil JAFC- Iveleary are through to mid- Cork Final.......

August 22, 2019

....Iveleary      3-10.... 

....Canovee    0-10...

------After a mildly entertaining first half at the end of which the teams were level at 0-6 each, Iveleary put on the style in the second half with an impressive display of non-stop running, constant tackling and no little skill to completely dominate Canovee whom they had narrowly defeated in last year’s Ross Oil Mid Cork championship final. Three quality goals, one each from Chris Óg Jones, Aaron O’Donovan and Ger McSweeney illuminated their second half performance and they will now be favoured to add another Mid Cork title to their list of achievements. Points from Chris Óg Jones 2, and Conor O’Leary were matched by two from Mark Healy and Jack Kelleher to leave the sides level at 0-3 each after 14 minutes. Canovee then went two clear through Brian O’Donoghue and Conor Hughes, Cathal Vaughan and Mark Healy exchanged points, before Cathal Vaughan brought his side level by half time with two points, one from a beautifully kicked free.

A goal from Chris Óg Jones after two minutes of the second half ignited Iveleary who went on to play some quality football that Canovee could not match. The Iveleary defence was magnificent, pitted as it was against a quality forward line and with the Iveleary young guns beginning to grow in confidence the team has a formidable look about it and appears to be coming into form at the right time.

Scorers: Iveleary: C Óg Jones 1-3, A O’Donovan and G McSweeney 1-0 each, C Vaughan 0-4 (0-1f), B Cronin 0-2 (0-1f, 0-1 sideline), C O’Leary 0-1. Canovee: M Healy 0-5 (frees), J Kelleher 0-2, B O’Donoghue, C Hughes and S O’Connor 0-1 each.

Iveleary: Joe Creedon: Barry Murphy, Ciarán O’Riordan, Ger O’Riordan: Kevin Manning, Seán O’Leary, Sean O’Riordan: Seán Lehane, Daniel O’Riordan: Conor O’Leary, Cathal Vaughan, Barry O’Leary: Chris Óg Jones, Brian Cronin, Aaron O’Donovan. Subs: Ger McSweeney for S Lehane h/t, Finbarr McSweeney for A O’Donovan 52, Donal Cotter for C O’Leary bc 57, Ciarán Galvin for B Cronin 58.

Canovee: Darren Shine: Patrick Buckley, William Aherne, Eoghan Lehane: Brian Aherne, Michael Dunne, Liam Kelleher: Aidan Murphy, Brian O’Donoghue: Denis O’Sullivan, Paul Healy, Conor Hughes: Jack Kelleher, James Moynihan, Mark Healy. Subs: Mark Walsh for C Hughes 39, Seán O’Connor for D O’Sullivan 43, Eamon Lyons for L Kelleher 54, Blake Ring for P Healy 54, Con Dunne for E Lyons b/c 57.

Referee; David Murnane, Macroom.

Report by Brendan Keneally.

share on entry