MJK OILS Q/final- Eire Og edge out Ballincollig in thriller.....

August 22, 2019

-Éire Óg     0-13.....

-Ballincollig 0-12....


-An injury time 65 from Éire Óg’s Eoin Lyons ensured his side advance to the semi-final of the MJK Oils JAHC at Coachford. Lyons was unerring throughout as the Ovens outfit earned the bragging rights over their neighbours. Éire Óg held a five point lead after 50 minutes but Ballincollig launched a strong comeback down the home straight which just ran out of steam. While both sides made lots of errors there was plenty of honest endeavour in an exciting finale as Lyons held his nerve to deliver a famous victory.

In a lively opening Eoin Lyons registered the opening score of the game with a fine score from play. Ballincollig’s Stephen Wills made a terrific run but his shot at goal was well saved by Éire Óg’s goalkeeper Conor Keane. Wills pointed a placed effort before Shane Murphy put Ballincollig in front by neatly clipping over from an acute angle. A Placed effort from Lyons edged the Ovens men in front before Ballincollig’s goalkeeper James Linehan brilliantly denied Jerome Kelleher a certain goal. Lyons landed a couple of frees before Shane Murphy replied with two points from play, 0-6 apiece at the break.

Two more frees from Lyons stretched their lead before Conor Kinsella replied with an excellent point from play. Éire Óg upped their work rate in the third quarter with Michael O’Shea and Darragh McCarthy putting the Ovens side three points clear. Ballincollig’s Stephen Wills had a penalty superbly stopped by Conor Keane. Two more frees from Lyons left five points between the sides. But points from Stephen Wills (1f) and a magnificent effort from Conor Kinsella reduced the gap to two points in the closing minutes. Another Wills free was followed by the equaliser from Stephen Coughlan.

But Éire Óg launched one final foray and Linehan saved well from Lyons which gave the full forward a 65. He bisected the posts and Éire Óg will now face Kilmichael in the semi-final with Cloughduv already in the final.




 Scorers for ÉireÓg:E Lyons 0-10 ( 8f, ’65)R O’Toole M O’Shea, D McCarthy 0-1 each 

Scorers for Ballincollig: S Wills 0-5 ( 4f)S Murphy 0-3, C Kinsella 0-2, S Coughlan, A Donovan 0-1 each.



Éire Óg: C Keane; S O’Flynn, J Kelleher, P O’Sullivan; C O’Mahony, T O’Leary, A O’Mahony; C Mullins, S Desmond; M O’Shea, D McCarthy, R O’Toole; D Dineen, E Lyons, J Kelleher. Subs: F Brennan for D Dineen (10, inj) 

Ballincollig: J Linehan; J Cotter, S O’Donoghue, B Sorenson; S O’Neill, J O’Leary, C O’Donovan; C Kinsella, K Spillane; S Wills, S Coughlan, A O’Donovan; S Murphy, S Ryan, J Murray. Subs: D Collins for S Ryan (40).



Referee:B Barry Murphy (Aghabullogue)

 Report by Kevin Murphy

share on entry