Aghinagh Stun Kilmurry to advance to Championship semi-final....

July 29, 2019

....Ross Oil Junior A Football Championship:....

Aghinagh 0-13...

Kilmurry 1-8

....Aghinagh are into the semi final of the Mid Cork Junior A Football Championship, after a display full of determination saw off the challenge of one of the favorites to win this competition outright in Kilmurry.

This was without doubt one of the standout results of the championship year in Muskerry so far, but for Aghinagh they fully got what they deserved for their effort on the night.

Aghinagh set their stall out and commenced the brighter, with Liam Twohig knocking over well taken scores

Converted efforts for Kilmurry including from Liam Wall and Joe Ryan meant that they trailed at the half time break 0-5 to Aghinagh’s 0-8.

Although Kilmurry’s cause was not helped when Kyle Kelleher was shown a black card, they found the back of the net when Greg Barrett blasted home from close range to see his side lead for the first time in the contest.

But Aghinagh showed what they were made of and produced the desired response. A pair of Twohig scores saw the sides back on level terms.

That was before Ambrose edged Aghinagh back in front at 0-11 to Kilmurry’s 1-7 with nine minutes remaining.

Ryan pointed again for Kilmurry level things up again. But Aghinagh dug deep once more in the dying stages.

Twohig was ever inspirational on the night for Aghinagh and it was somewhat fitting that he put them back in front.

Things went from bad to worse for Kilmurry, as Jason McDonnell was shown a straight red card for an off the ball incident.

A fantastic late point from the sideline by Donal Corkery capped off a fine evening and memorable victory for Aghinagh.

Aghinagh will now face the victors of the meeting of Ballincollig and Éire Óg in the last four. Canovee and Iveleary meanwhile will contest the other semi final, what will be a repeat of the final of 2018.

Scorers for-

Aghinagh: L Twohig(4f) 0-7, D Ambrose, D Corkery 0-2 each, A Twomey, S Kelleher 0-1 each.


Kilmurry: J Ryan(4f) 0-4, G Barrett 1-0, L Wall, E Clifford, D McCarthy, S Warren 0-1 each.

Aghinagh: P O’Sullivan: J Lynch, D O’Callaghan, S Kelleher: A Twomey, D Barry, A O’Leary: G O’Sullivan, M O’Brien:  R O’Sullivan, M Corkery, D Ambrose: W Coakley, D Corkery, L Twohig.

Subs: J Horgan for O’Leary(b/c) (15), C Buckley for M Corkery  (43), M McCarthy for O’Brien (50), S Corkery for Horgan (60).

Kilmurry:  J McDonnell: L Buckley, K Barrett, W Ronan: S Curzon, J O’Mullane, L Long: G Barrett, L Wall: M Healy, J Ryan, E Carroll: E Clifford, D McCarthy, S Warren.

Subs: K Kelleher for Curzon (16), D O’Halloran for Carroll (28), E Curzon for Ryan  (60).

Referee:  David Murnane(Macroom).

Report by John O'Shea

share on entry