Iveleary defeat Blarney to book semi-final berth......

July 28, 2019

-Iveleary 1-18-

-Blarney 0-5-


An excellent team performance ensured Iveleary outclassed Blarney in this Ross Oil JAFC quarter final at Cloughduv. Blarney defended heroically on occasions and trailed by 0-8 to 0-4 at the break. But the Inchigeela outfit completely dominated the second period with Brian Cronin looking really sharp while their talented minor Conor O’Leary caught the eye with some good scores.

Iveleary registered the opening scores of this game through a Brian Cronin free and an excellent score from the returning Chris Óg Jones. Blarney were back on level terms with a couple of placed efforts from Ray Murphy. A superb solo run from Aaron O’Donovan resulted in another good score for Iveleary. Further points from goalkeeper Joe Creedon (45), and Ger McSweeney consolidated that lead. Blarney’s Alan McEvoy played well and he converted a long range free to keep his side in touch. But another sweet score from Chris Óg and a brace of frees from Brian Cronin put daylight between the teams. Blarney’s Ray Murphy added his third free to leave his side trailing by four points, 0-8 to 0-4 at the break.

A superb score from Alan McEvoy from the throw in reduced the gap to three points and it looked like game on. However, Iveleary were having none of it and quickly reasserted their lead with points from Conor O’Leary, Brian Cronin (free) and Chris Óg Jones. The Inchigeela side played some excellent football in the third quarter with Conor O Leary finishing off a brilliant team move to the net after 45 minutes.

The closing stages was all one-way traffic with Conor O’Leary, Chris Óg and Brian Cronin all adding scores. Any Blarney attack was snuffed out with some tigerish defending by Barry Murphy, Kevin Manning and Sean O’Leary. Brian Cronin clipped over three frees and a point from play to cap off a fine individual performance. Bigger tests will lie ahead but the return of talisman Cathal Vaughan will make the defending champions Iveleary serious mid Cork contenders.

Scorers for Iveleary: B Cronin 0-10 (9f), C O’Leary 1-2, C Óg Jones 0-3, J Creedon (’45), G McSweeney, A O’Donovan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Blarney: R Murphy 0-3 (3f), A McEvoy 0-2 (1f).



Iveleary:J Creedon; B Murphy, C O’Riordan, G O’Riordan; S O’Riordan, S O’Leary, K Manning; B O’Leary, D O’Riordan; C O’Leary, B Cronin, F McSweeney (Snr); A O’Donovan, G McSweeney, C Og Jones.

Blarney:B Ahern; V O’Mahony, J Barrett, B Hallihan; E Mullan, M Cremin, S Mullane; C Foley, M O’Leary; J Jordan, A McEvoy, JD Good; R Murphy, P O’Leary, K Costello. Subs: M Coleman for Hallihan (16), C O’Mahony for V O’Mahony (49), E O’Mahony for JD Good (49), J Walsh for M O’Leary (55).



Referee: G Ahern ( Canovee).

share on entry