MJK OILS JAHC- Éire Óg defeat Donoughmore.....

June 10, 2019

-Éire Óg 2-15...

-Donoughmore 1-5...

In this clash which was played in Macroom on Friday night, it was Éire Óg that comfortably came out on top as the victors in this Mid Cork Junior A Hurling Championship encounter against Donoughmore.

Right throughout it was the men from Éire Óg who were well on top and were always in control of this game essentially.

The Ovens side had the better of the opening half and they would go in at the break with a nine point advantage.

Michael O’Shea got the opening two scores for Éire Óg, before Darren Lucey pointed with a free for Donoughmore.

Éire Óg responded in kind through an Eoin Lyons point. Then the opening goal of the contest arrived in the 11th minute, when Joe Kelleher netted with a neat close range strike:

Although Lucey would get two more points for Donoughmore before the end of the first half, it was essentially all one way traffic, as Éire Óg added to their tally through Lyons and a number of well taken efforts from out wide by Michael O’Shea.

The second half was a similar pattern to the first half, with Éire Óg slotting over points with quite relative ease, with early scores after the break coming from O’Shea and Chris Kelly.

After Donoughmore got a score from another free, Éire Óg found the back of the net for a second occasion, when Jerome Kelleher firing the ball home with precision.

From that stage onwards it was just a case of going through the motions for the final quarter of an hour, with the outcome long decided.

O’Shea would fire over once again, with Daire McCarthy and Phillip O’Sullivan also chipping in with points of their own for Éire Óg, 

Although Donoughmore got a late goal through Lucey, it was only a consolation at this stage.

Éire Óg will fully deserving victors but will know that there will be sterner tests than this awaiting them. 

Éire Óg:  M O’Shea 0-6,  E Lyons(3f) 0-5, Joe Kelleher, Jerome Kelleher 1-0 each, D McCarthy 0-2, C Kelly, P O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Donoughmore: D Lucey (3f) 1-4, B O’Callaghan (1f)  0-1.

Éire Óg: C Keane; J Kelleher, D Kelly, P O’Sullivan: S O’Flynn, T O’Leary, C Mullins: Joe Kelleher,  S Desmond: C Kelly, D McCarthy,  M O’Shea: Jerome Kelleher, E Lyons, D Murphy.

Subs:  None

Donoughmore: S Sexton: D Dorney, T Looney, D Looney: A Twomey, K Horgan, StJohn Ford: W Murphy, A Looney: D Lucey, R O’Regan, C Sexton: E Buckley, S Horgan, B Honohan.


Subs: C Looney for E Buckley (35), G Buckley for O’Regan (40), B O’Callaghan for S Horgan, A Savage for Twomey (both 46), C Murphy for Sexton (57).

Referee: John Ryan(Macroom).

Report by John O' Shea  

share on entry