Canovee cruise to victory in Ross Oil JAFC...... impressive ....

May 26, 2019

Canovee 2-18.....

Naomh Abán 1-2


---Canovee got their Ross Oil JAFC off to a perfect start by completely outclassing Naomh Abán at Kilmichael. After reaching the mid Cork final last year Canovee look set for another exciting summer ahead. They have bolstered their squad with a couple of very impressive young guns Evan Dodd and Jack Kelleher.

Mark Healy got the scoring underway with a placed effort before towering midfielder Brian O’Donoghue added another. Further points from Healy (free), Conor Hughes and a superb long range effort from James Moynihan gave the victors a six point lead. Naomh Abán were defending quite well as they were under enormous pressure in the opening quarter. The Gaeltacht outfit registered their opening score with a placed effort from Darragh Ó Laoire. But the Canovee response was immediate with well taken points from James Moynihan and Mark Walsh to lead by 0-8 to 0-1. Canovee’s goalkeeper Darren Shine was called into action and made a great save from Tadgh Ó Riordáin after he slipped inside the cover on the stroke of halftime.

On resumption a well taken point from Paul Healy was followed by another classy point from James Moynihan. Canovee were reduced to fourteen men at this point after William Ahern received a second yellow card. Canovee introduced Jack Kelleher with this lad really impressing and contributing four points in a dominant third quarter. James Moynihan is also a very talented footballer and he blasted home two goals inside a minute after excellent link up play with Denis O’Sullivan. The rout was completed when the aforementioned Jack Kelleher, Sean O’Connor and Paul Healy landed points in the closing minutes.






Scorers for Canovee:J Moynihan 2-4, J Kelleher 0-4 (2f), M Healy 0-3 (2f), P Healy, C Hughes 0-2, M Walsh, S O’Connor, B O’Donoghue 0-1 each.

Scorers for Naomh Abán: A Ó Catháin 1-0, D Ó Laoire, C Ó Meachair 0-1 each.



Canovee:D Shine; B Ring, A Murphy, P Buckley; B Ahern, M Dunne, C Hughes; E Dodd, B O’Donoghue; M Walsh, P Healy, D O’Sullivan; J Moynihan, M Healy, W Ahearn.  Subs:J Kelleher for Mark Healy (45), S O’Connor for M Walsh (45). M Healy for E Dodd ( inj ,55).

Naomh Abán: C Ó Críodáin; D Ó Loingsigh, P Ó hAileasa, D MacCarthaigh; A Ó Catháin, E Ó Docharthaigh, M Ó Ceallacháin; T Ó Scanaill, D Ó Meachair; N Ó Ceallaigh, D Ó Laoire, D Ó Loingsigh; T Ó Riordáin, C Ó Donnchú, S Ó Riordáin. Subs: C Ó Meachair for T Ó Riordáin (h/t), C Ó Donnchú for D Ó Meachair (40), E Ó Scanaill for M Ó Ceallacháin (45), D Ó Deasúna for D Ó Laoire (55).


Referee: K Furey (Cill Na Martra)

Match report by Kevin Murphy

share on entry