Kilmurry claim U21 title in some style ............

March 26, 2018

Muskerry U21 A Football Championship Final
Kilmurry: 3-10
Éire Óg: 1-10
Barry O’ Mahony
Kilmurry have been crowned Muskerry U21 A football champions for the first time since 1971, after a six-point triumph over Éire Óg at Coachford on Saturday afternoon. It was a deserved win for Kilmurry, who never trailed throughout. Joe Ryan and Sean Warren were in majestic form in the full-forward line for the winners, scoring a combined 2-9.
Kilmurry were fast out of the traps, with 1-1 inside five minutes, Sean Warren set up Ryan, and the latter drilled the ball into the net. Éire Óg kicked two of the next three points, Eoin O’ Shea and a Jack Murphy free with the scores, 1-2 to 0-2 after the first quarter. Kilmurry looked dangerous going forward and struck for another green flag, as Sean Warren scored from close range.
The Ovens side rallied and raised five consecutive white flags, Murphy with three frees, and a brace of scores from John Cooper, 2-2 to 0-7 after 26 minutes. Kilmurry finished the half with two points, through Sean Warren and Ryan, 2-4 to 0-7 at the break.
Kimurry started the new half, with two of the first three white flags. Éire Óg needed a goal, and were close to one, as O’ Shea’s shot hit the post. 120 seconds later, it was effectively game over, as Kilmurry’s Evan O’ Carroll slotted the ball low into the net, 3-6 to 0-8 after 40 minutes. Kilmurry were reduced to 14 players just before the third quarter, as Liam O’ Sullivan received a second yellow.
Kilmurry pushed eight points clear with four minutes remaining, as the unerring Ryan pointed a placed ball, 3-9 to 0-10. Éire Óg sub Dylan Foley scored a goal, merely a consolation. Fittingly, it was Kilmurry captain Ryan, who had the final score of the game, with a fine effort to seal a historic win.
Scorers for Kilmurry: J Ryan 1-5 (0-4f), S Warren 1-4 (0-1f), E Carroll 1-0, E Clifford 0-1.
Scorers for Éire Óg: J Murphy 0-6 (0-6f), D Foley 1-1, J Cooper 0-2, E O’ Shea 0-1.
Kilmurry: E Curzon, John O’ Mullane, F Warren, W Ronan, K Kelleher, M Healy, James O’ Mullane, S Flanagan, L O’ Sullivan, B Hinchion, E Clifford, L Wall, E Carroll, J Ryan ©, S Warren.
Subs: G Fitton for S Flanagan (HT), D Linehan for James O’ Mullane (40, black-card), S Flanagan for S Warren (60, black-card).
Éire Óg: C Kelly ©, P Twomey, D Twomey, C Sheehan, P Kirwan, C O’ Callaghan, J Kelleher, J Murphy, M Brady, J Cooper, J Twomey, D Kirwan, K O’ Riordan, E O’ Shea, B Hurley.
Subs: R O’ Flynn for J Kelleher (HT), D Foley for K O’ Riordan (42, inj), C Buckley for P Twomey (47), S Desmond for B Hurley (56, inj).

Referee: John Ryan (Macroom)

share on entry