Kilmichael edge out Inniscarra in Football Championship

July 06, 2017

Kilmichael: 1-17 

Inniscarra: 2-11 

Kilmichael are back in contention in the Muskerry JAFC after overcoming Inniscarra in Round 2 at Cloughduv on Tuesday night. Kilmichael settled the better, leading 0-3 to 0-1 after nine minutes, and also could have raised a green flag in this time. Inniscarra goalkeeper Dave Óg Coleman made a fantastic save to deny Simon Foley.

Kilmichael stretched their lead to 0-5 to 0-2, just after the first quarter, with points from Conor Cotter and a Daniel Twomey placed ball. Inniscarra were struggling to get the ball into the full-forward line, with Kilmichael defending in numbers. But when Inniscarra found their danger man, Dan O’ Connell, he went on a fabulous solo run and unleashed an unstoppable shot into the top left hand corner of the net. That spurred on the Ballyanly side and they raised three white flags in four minutes, through Adam O’ Connell, Shane Buckley and a Tomas O’ Connor free.

The final four minutes of the half belonged to the winners, scoring 1-3 without reply. Daniel Twomey with 1-2 and an Alan Dromey effort. Twomey’s goal was made by Peter Kelleher, as the ball was seemingly going over the end line, the latter somehow kept the ball in and set up the on rushing Twomey to drill the ball into the net. 1-8 to 1-5 at the break.

Inniscarra kept plugging away and by the 40th minute, they were well in contention. Trailing 1-10 to 1-8. But a 15 minute scoring spree from the winners, put the game beyond Inniscarra. Kilmichael scored six of the seven points in this time, to lead 1-16 to 1-9.

Inniscarra reduced the gap to just two points going into injury time, scoring 1-2. John O’ Callaghan and Adam O’Connell with the points. Declan Hyland with a rebound goal.

Man of the match Daniel Twomey ensured victory for Kilmichael, with a point in injury time.

Kilmichael move onto the Q-Final. Inniscarra exit the championship for 2017.

Scorers for Kilmichael: D Twomey 1-7 (0-4f), A Dromey 0-4 (0-3f), C Cotter 0-2, C Dromey 0-2, B Cotter 0-1, S Foley 0-1.


Scorers for Inniscarra: D O’ Connell 1-2 (0-1f), A O’ Connell 0-4, D Hyland 1-0, T O’ Connor 0-2 (0-2f), S Buckley 0-1, J Walsh 0-1, J O’ Callaghan 0-1.


Kilmichael: S Masters, S Kelleher, A Kelly, C Murphy, K Murphy, F Buckley, A Murphy, C Cotter, F Dromey, A Dromey, P Kelleher, C Dromey, B Cotter, S Foley, D Twomey.

Subs: C Foley for C Dromey (46).


Inniscarra: D Óg Coleman, D Hyland, A Sheehan, J O’ Callaghan, K O’ Herlihy, D Twomey, J O’ Dwyer, J Walsh, P Farmer, A O’ Connell, C Cronin, S Buckley, T O’ Connor, D O’ Connell, T Murphy.


Subs: D Carroll for  Twomey (9) inj.


Referee: Pat O’ Leary (Kilmurry)

Report by Barry O'Mahony

share on entry